Dairy-Free Dining in New Orleans!

New Orleans loves its seafood, beignets, and brunch, that is for sure! This makes it very hard for visitors to find options that are not made with butter, cream or other dairy products.

dining

Don’t cross it off your vacation list just yet! There is more to the city than just delicious drinks!

I was able to find AND ENJOY some spots that had dairy-free options on their menu or there were regular options with slight modifications. While the type of food sometimes felt a little limiting due to my budget and unwillingness to drive around to the vegan hot-spots, it was still (overall) an easy time to find something on the menu. Please just be prepared to sometimes have the same kind of food for some of your meals depending on where you go and depending on what type of restaurants are by your hotel.

If you have a diary allergy, always double check on the food,

Here is my list of places I went to for meals and what I selected:

  • Mother’s Restaurant, 401 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130

Seafood Gumbo

  • PJ’s Coffee, 300 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130

Silk Almond Chocolate Milk

Cinnamon Raisin Bagel

(Warning, while I did not get sick and I am severely lactose intolerant, I risked eating the bagel even though I just assumed it was dairy-free or at least lactose-free. If you have a dairy-allergy (or even just intolerance), please double check ingredients if you can, or maybe just don’t be desperate like me and go somewhere else!

  • Estrella Steak & Lobster House, 237 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130

Bacon

Toast (make sure you ask that it is not buttered)

Jelly

(This was brunch time, I ate small at the restaurant and had a tangerine and banana that I had packed for the trip! You could ask if their eggs and sausage are cooked in butter or oil, I did not since our wait staff did not seem patient or allergy-friendly.)

  • 801 Royal, 801 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116

Chicken Gumbo

House Salad with no cheese or croutons

Balsamic Vinaigrette

  • Bayou Burger and Sports Company, 3226 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70115

The Sportsman Burger (delicious and great for a brunch or lunch)

Kettle Chips

  • Drago’s Seafood Restaurant, 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130

Seafood Gumbo

House Salad

Balsamic Vinaigrette

There are some lists and maps of vegan places out on other websites, it did look like the majority of those places where around the Garden District. I did not get a chance to visit these locations, so go exploring if you can!

I have heard of Seed in the Garden District, it is near the interstate, not so much near the shops in that area. I would suggest calling them or checking out their website and menu.

I also saw, but did not get to try anything from Green Goddess (307 Exchange Pl, New Orleans, LA 70130). When I walked by, there were tasty looking salad plates ordered by the people sitting outside. Their website has a very vegan and vegetarian-friendly menu.

I would not suggest GG’s Dine-O-Rama in the Garden District (3100 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70115), their menu and wait staff seem very unfriendly to any modifications due to allergies or intolerances. Their menu even says, “Tell your allergies we use…” Really?

⚜ Bonne Chance et Bon Temps! ⚜

Kitchen Talk

